Temple Site

The Bahá’í Temple site is located at 7290 Leslie Street, Markham, Ontario, adjacent to the Bahá’í National Centre administrative building. The Bahá’í Temple land was acquired by the Bahá’í community in 1968. Since that time, it has been reserved for a future Temple and preserved even as the surrounding areas have been turned from agricultural land into residential properties.

Location

The designated site for the Temple building was used as agricultural land as recently as 1954. It is surrounded by a former landfill site (closed in 1978) – now the German Mills Settlers Park and Natural Habitat to the north, the Bayview Golf and Country Club to the west, and Bercy (Wycliffe) Park to the east.

The location of the Bahá’í Temple was selected after extensive evaluation of the ecology and landscape of the property. It will be constructed in a location that was formerly agricultural lands and then subsequently used as an orchard. The location of the Temple is characterized by significant non-native and invasive species that are threatening the integrity of the adjacent significant woodlands. As part of the Temple construction, the invasive species will be removed and managed, with associated restoration and enhancement efforts to return the surrounding area to a healthy and natural landscape. Although it is ecologically connected, the Temple remains at some distance from the German Mills Settlers Park area, with only restoration efforts proposed on the lands bordering the meadow.

Historical aerial photograph, 1954.

Ecological sustainability

The Bahá’í sacred writings refer to nature as the expression of God’s will and a reflection of divine attributes, calling upon humanity to care for the environment with an attitude of stewardship. As such, planning for the Temple has involved extensive environmental impact assessments and proactive restorative action plans to preserve ecological balance and increase ecological function. An overarching project goal is to improve the ecological function and sustainability of the site.

The first site visits with the City of Markham and the Toronto Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) began in 2017. Subsequently, a comprehensive, multi-season natural heritage study provided detailed insight into the ecology of the site and its connection to the larger natural heritage system associated with the German Mills Creek corridor. This included botanical inventory, ecological land classification, a tree inventory, surveys of breeding birds, insects, bats, and other wildlife. Ultimately, this ongoing study supported the siting of the Temple in a portion of the site characterized by invasive species the management of which would protect the larger German Mills Creek valley corridor, and placed to ensure it will have no direct impact on significant wildlife habitat.

As part of the project, more than 4 hectares (10 acres) of land have been proposed for restoration and compensation of tree removal elsewhere compared to the ~0.5 hectares (1.2 acres) that will be impacted by the Temple construction. Invasive species that pose a threat to the existing natural vegetation communities will be removed and will receive continued management to protect the abutting significant woodland, and new native trees, shrubs and wildflowers will be planted. This will include a broad range of native plant species that support biodiversity, including pollinator, songbird, bat and a variety of other wildlife species.

Furthermore, the proposal by the National Spiritual Assembly will increase the total land area within the Greenway designation of the Markham Official Plan and will convert land currently zoned and permitted for low rise residential to grounds for a Place of Worship.

Learn more about the plans

Le site du temple

Le site du futur temple bahá’í est situé au 7290, rue Leslie, à Markham (Ontario) à côté du bâtiment administratif du Centre national bahá’í. La communauté bahá’íe a acquis ce terrain en 1968. Depuis, le terrain a été préservé en vue de l’érection d’un temple, alors que les zones environnantes qui étaient des terres agricoles ont été transformées en zones résidentielles.

Le site

Il est entouré d’une ancienne décharge (fermée en 1978) – aujourd’hui le German Mills Settlers Park and Natural Habitat au nord, du club de golf et de loisirs Bayview à l’ouest et du parc Bercy (Wycliffe) à l’est.

L’emplacement du temple bahá’í a été choisi après une évaluation approfondie de l’écologie et du paysage de la propriété. Il sera construit sur une partie de la propriété qui faisait autrefois partie d’un verger. L’emplacement du temple est caractérisé par la présence d’importantes espèces non indigènes et envahissantes qui menacent l’intégrité des forêts adjacentes. Dans le cadre de la construction du temple, les espèces envahissantes seront enlevées et gérées, et des efforts de restauration et d’amélioration seront déployés pour redonner à la zone environnante un paysage sain et naturel. Bien qu’il soit écologiquement connecté, le temple reste à une certaine distance de la zone du parc des colons de German Mills, et les efforts de restauration sont uniquement proposés pour les terres bordant le pré.

Photographie aérienne historique de 1954.

La viabilité écologique

Les écrits saints bahá’ís considèrent que la nature est l’expression de la volonté de Dieu et le reflet de ses attributs, et appellent l’humanité à prendre soin de l’environnement en agissant comme protecteur de son milieu naturel. C’est pourquoi la planification du développement du temple a donné lieu à des évaluations approfondies de ses répercussions sur l’environnement, afin d’en préserver l’équilibre écologique. L’un des principaux objectifs du projet est d’améliorer la fonction écologique et la viabilité du site.

Les premières visites du site avec des représentants de la ville de Markham et de l’Office de protection de la nature de la région de Toronto (OPNRT) ont commencé en 2017. Par la suite, une étude complète et au cours de plusieurs saisons du patrimoine naturel a permis de mieux comprendre l’écologie du site dans le contexte du système plus vaste du patrimoine naturel associé au corridor du ruisseau German Mills. Cette étude comprenait un inventaire botanique, une classification écologique des terres, un inventaire des arbres, des enquêtes sur les oiseaux nicheurs, les insectes, les chauves-souris et d’autres espèces sauvages. En fin de compte, cette étude a permis de choisir l’emplacement du temple dans une partie du site caractérisée par la présence d’espèces envahissantes, dont la gestion permettrait de protéger le corridor de la vallée du ruisseau German Mills, et de s’assurer que le temple n’aurait pas d’effet direct sur un habitat faunique important.

Dans le cadre du projet, il a été proposé de restaurer plus de quatre hectares de terrain et de compenser l’abattage d’arbres ailleurs, alors que la construction du temple aura une portée sur environ 0,5 ha. Les espèces envahissantes qui menacent les agglomérations végétales naturelles existantes seront enlevées et feront l’objet d’une gestion continue afin de protéger les forêts importantes avoisinantes, et de nouveaux arbres, arbustes et fleurs sauvages indigènes seront plantés. Il s’agira d’un large éventail d’espèces végétales indigènes qui favorisent la biodiversité, notamment les pollinisateurs, les oiseaux chanteurs, les chauves-souris et une variété d’autres espèces sauvages.

En outre, la proposition de l’Assemblée spirituelle nationale augmentera la superficie totale des terres situées dans le périmètre de la voie verte du plan officiel de Markham et convertira des terres actuellement zonées et autorisées pour des immeubles résidentiels de faible hauteur en terrains destinés à un lieu de culte.

En savoir plus sur les plans de développement