A Place for Prayer and Service

Bahá’í Houses of Worship, built to embody beauty and oneness, grace and simplicity, invite all to experience a serene and spiritual atmosphere, free of rituals of any kind, where hearts are uplifted through prayer and reflection on the noble ideas enshrined in sacred writings.

Central to the concept of a House of Worship are two essential and inseparable aspects of life: worship and selfless service to humanity. Prayer brings joy and heightens our awareness of our essential nobility and true purpose. Our thoughts expand to encompass concern for the well-being and progress of our fellow human beings, beginning with our own families, our neighbours, and our communities.

Prayer has the power to awaken the natural impulse in the human heart to render service to others. As it becomes part of a regular pattern of individual and collective life, it reinforces and sustains these endeavours to contribute to the betterment of society.

As a building dedicated to prayer and meditation, the presence of a House of Worship in a community gives form to a regular pattern of worship that can inspire and strengthen the efforts of thousands to live a life of service.

A Temple open to all people

All Bahá’í Temples are designed to have nine sides and be surrounded by pathways leading to gardens and natural areas. The Bahá’í sacred writings require that no sermons or ritual ceremonies are performed in Bahá’í Temples, and devotional services feature only the scriptures of the Bahá’í Faith and other religions.

The distinction between continental, national, and local Houses of Worship is a matter of scale and orientation. The national Bahá’í House of Worship in Canada will be a focal point of worship within the country. Designated for the people of Canada, the Temple design will speak to the aspirations of country’s diverse inhabitants, as a symbol of the oneness of humankind.

There are currently thirteen Bahá’í Temples in the world. Eight of these are continental Houses of Worship, located in the United States, Uganda, Australia, Germany, Panama, Samoa, India, and Chile. Four others are local Houses of Worship, and one other – in the Democratic Republic of Congo – is a national House of Worship.

Un lieu réservé à la prière et au service de la collectivité

Les maisons d’adoration bahá’íes, construites pour incarner la beauté et l’unité, la grâce et la simplicité, invitent chacun à faire l’expérience d’une atmosphère sereine et spirituelle, exempte de tout rituel, où les cœurs s’élèvent par la prière et la réflexion sur les nobles idées contenues dans les écrits saints.

Deux aspects essentiels et inséparables de la vie sont au cœur du concept de maison d’adoration : l’adoration et le service désintéressé de l’humanité. La prière confère de la joie et nous fait prendre conscience de notre noblesse essentielle et de notre véritable raison d’être. Nos pensées s’élargissent pour inclure le souci du bien-être et du progrès de nos semblables, à commencer par nos propres familles, nos voisins et notre communauté.

La prière a le pouvoir d’éveiller l’impulsion naturelle du cœur humain qui le pousse à rendre service aux autres. Quand cette impulsion s’intègre à un mode de vie individuelle et collective, elle renforce et soutient les efforts visant à contribuer à l’amélioration de la société.

La présence d’une maison d’adoration dans une communauté – un édifice réservé à la prière et à la méditation – permet de créer des habitudes de culte qui inspirent et renforcent les efforts de milliers de personnes qui désirent mener une existence axée sur le service.

Un temple ouvert à tous

Tous les temples bahá’ís sont conçus pour avoir neuf côtés et être entourés de sentiers menant à des jardins et à des zones naturelles. Les écrits saints bahá’ís proscrivent les sermons et les cérémonies rituelles dans les temples bahá’ís et exigent que seuls les écrits de la foi bahá’íe et des autres religions y soient présentés lors des services dévotionnels.

La distinction entre les maisons d’adoration continentales, nationales et locales est une question d’échelle et de population desservie. La maison d’adoration bahá’íe nationale du Canada sera un point central du culte pour le pays. Destiné à la population canadienne, le temple reflètera les aspirations des divers habitants du pays et symbolisera l’unité de l’humanité.

Il y a actuellement treize temples bahá’ís dans le monde. Huit d’entre eux sont des maisons d’adoration continentales. Elles sont situées aux États-Unis, en Ouganda, en Australie, en Allemagne, au Panama, à Samoa, en Inde et au Chili. Quatre autres sont des maisons d’adoration locales, et une autre – en République démocratique du Congo – est une maison d’adoration nationale.